Types Of Panchakarma

Shiro Abhyanga/Shiro Mardana

Shiro Abhyanga/Shiro Mardana

Shiro Abhyanga is a Sanskrit term comprised of two words: Shiro (head) and Abhyanga (massage). Shiro Abhyanga essentially means a complete massage of the head, neck, and shoulders using Ayurvedic herbal oils.

Shirodhara is a form of Ayurveda therapy that involves gently pouring liquids over the forehead and can be one of the steps involved in Panchakarma. The name comes from the Sanskrit words shiro (head) and dhara (flow).Shirodhara is also effective in treating mental conditions such as anxiety, and mental stress.

  • Shiro Roga – Different types of headaches and diseases related to the head.
  • Pakshaghata – Hemiplegia or paralysis.

  • Anidra – Insomnia.

  • Vata Roga – Degenerative diseases.

  • Pitta Roga – Inflammatory diseases.

  • Shiro Rukshata – Dryness of the scalp.

  • Shiro Kandu – Itching in the scalp.

  • Adhipati: The “soft spot” located 8 finger widths above the eyebrows in the center of the skull.

  • Simantaka: Located 12 finger widths above the eyebrows on the skull where the hairs gather in a swirl.

  • Krikatika: These are 2 points located on either side of the first cervical vertebrae behind the head where the neck meets the skull (occipital – cervical joint).

  • Vidhuram: The depression behind both ears, just behind the earlobes.

  • Shankha: The depressions on both sides of the forehead between the end of the eyebrow and the hairline (temples).